The Brag Media ▼
News November 29, 2023

Troye Sivan, Genesis Owusu, Gretta Ray Lead Australian Music Prize Nominations

Senior Journalist, B2B
Troye Sivan, Genesis Owusu, Gretta Ray Lead Australian Music Prize Nominations

Troye Sivan has a chance to add to his bulging collection of industry awards, this time with a chance for the 19th annual Australian Music Prize.

Sivan’s third studio album Something to Give Each Other is one of nine collections shortlisted for the AMP, announced today (Nov. 29).

The Perth-raised pop star and Rolling Stone AU/NZ cover star collected four ARIA Awards earlier this month for Something to Give Each Other, which led the ARIA Chart in October, for this first leader.

Also in the hunt for the AMP is Angie McMahon’s Light, Dark, Light Again; Floodlights’ Painting Of My Time; Gretta Ray’s Positive Spin; Jen Cloher’s I Am The River, The River is Me; Mo’Ju’s ORO,PLATA,MATA; Polaris’ Fatalism, RVG’s Brain Worms and Genesis Owusu’s Struggler, which, if it wins, would see the Canberra funkmaster become one of just two artists to double up (Sampa The Great has won a brace of AMPs).

Sponsored by SoundMerch, the AMP “honours the album as an art form and celebrating that achievement with the music community.” Only homegrown album released in the period from Jan. 1 to Oct. 27 2023 are eligible, with $30,000 set aside for the winner — courtesy of the headline sponsor.

“I’m thrilled that we again have a very strong and incredibly diverse Shortlist that truly captures another year of the WORLD’S best music,” comments AMP founder and prize director Scott Murphy.

“I sincerely want to thank The SoundMerch AMP team of judges who each year take the process of considering all the album releases very seriously and celebrate and recognise the artistic passion from all artists on the shortlist.”

This time, a music industry panel culled a long list of almost 450 eligible Australian artist LPs.

Universal Music Australia’s local labels EMI, Virgin and Island Records continue their support of the SoundMerch AMP by sponsoring this year’s nominees. The music major’s financial support will enable shortlisted artists to attend the winner announcement event at APRA AMCOS’ HQ in Sydney next Wednesday, Dec. 6.

See the full list below.
Angie McMahon – Light, Dark, Light Again
Floodlights – Painting Of My Time
Genesis Owusu – Struggler
Gretta Ray – Positive Spin
Jen Cloher – I Am The River, The River is Me
Polaris – Fatalism
RVG – Brain Worms
Troye Sivan – Something to Give Each Other


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles